Trade Commissioner Offices are located in the following countries: Argentina, Australia, (Sydney and Melbourne), Belgian Congo, Belgium, Brazil (Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo), British West Indies (Jamaica and Trinidad), Chile, China, Colombia, Cuba, Egypt, France, Greece, Guatemala, Hong Kong, India, Ireland, Italy, Malayan Union, Mexico, the Netherlands, Newfoundland, New Zealand, Norway, Peru, Portugal, South Africa (Johannesburg and Cape Town), Sweden, United Kingdom (London, Liverpool and Glasgow); the United States (Washington, New York, Chicago and Los Angeles); and Venezuela. Canadian representatives of the Department of Trade and Commerce are attached to the Canadian Military Mission in Germany and the Canadian Mission in Japan.

Commercial Relations and Foreign Tariffs Division.—The Commercial Relations and Foreign Tariffs Division collects and makes available to Government agencies and exporters, data on trade agreements and trade relationships with other countries, tariffs, import and exchange regulations, quotas and embargoes. More generally, questions related to trade agreements and commercial policies of other countries are of concern to this Division. This involves minute investigation into all aspects of commercial policy and research into tariff and financial developments, as well as the preparation of data required for preliminary study and preparation of new trade agreements, trade agreement renewals and revisions.

The Foreign Tariffs Section of this Division supplies information to Canadian exporters and other branches of the Government on tariffs, quotas, embargoes, documentation and other technical factors in the import regulations of foreign countries. New foreign trade laws and tariff regulations are perused constantly so that a record of up-to-date information is maintained and available upon request.

The Commercial Relations Section collects and records data required for prospective trade negotiations. Problems related to tariff hindrances and other trade obstructions are studied. The value of mutual concessions with trading countries is examined. The Section deals with representations made by Canadian exporters and initiates or advises regarding appropriate action. In carrying out these functions, it is often necessary for the Research Section to seek the assistance of specialists from other Government Departments in the various phases of export industry such as agriculture, forestry, mining, etc.

The Economic Section, still in the development stage, is designed to carry out studies of special subjects (e.g., non-tariff restrictions to world trade, export subsidies, quantitative controls, and import permits).

Export Division.—The Export Division of the Foreign Trade Service is the link between Canadian exporters and the Trade Commissioner Service in the promotion of export trade. The Division is comprised of 23 Commodity officers, organized into five major sections, as follows: (a) Foods—live stock and products, fish and fish products, plants and products, and food allocations; (b) Machinery, Metals and Chemicals—iron and steel products, non-ferrous metals and non-metallic minerals, chemicals and products, machinery and industrial equipment, electrical machinery and equipment, and automotive equipment and vehicles; (c) Textiles, Leather, Rubber—textiles and apparel, leather, rubber, and products; (d) Wood and Paper—wood and products, and paper and products; (e) General Products—durable consumer goods, and miscellaneous products. The Commodity officers serve in the dual capacity of keeping the Trade Commissioner Service abroad fully informed of supply conditions in Canada, and maintaining close liaison with